Jetsetting on a Thursday Night

November 13, 2009

My inability to pass up on a wine tasting, particularly from two of my absolutely favorite regions, inevitably led to a scheduling conflict, or at least a logistical nightmare, or at least a very busy evening filled with great wines that I had to taste at a slightly faster pace than I would have preferred. First up was the Piemonte Abbondanza at the Wine Bottega, featuring 19 wines from this incredible region. After tasting through the Piedmontese wines at breakneck speed, or at least as quickly as possible with the largest crowd I had ever seen in the Wine Bottega, I then headed Southwest to the Languedoc-Roussillon for the second tasting, Week 2 of ‘The Wines of Southern France’ at Jonathon Alsop’s Boston Wine School (I actually did travel west across Boston). So despite the fact that I had to navigate parking in the North End, sacrilegiously rushed through Barolos and Barbarescos, and was twenty-minutes late for my second day of school, I tasted some fabulous wines, learned quite a bit, and all in all had a fun, albeit hectic evening When the jetlag subsides I will write about each of these in more detail – the Piedmont post will probably be up tonight and the Languedoc not too far behind.

Leave a Reply

